• “We condemn the attack on Advocate Sudha Bhardwaj,” Academics and Activists

    Press Release

    July 9, 2018

    We the undersigned wish to place on record our utter disgust, contempt and outrage at the latest in the series of machinations by Republic TV, working to its brief as a propagandist for the ongoing crusade against all those who take public stands in defence of democracy, secularism, human rights, Constitutional propriety and rule of law.

    Republic TV’s latest target is Advocate Sudha Bharadwaj, National Secretary of the People’s Union for Civil Liberties, Vice President of the Indian Association of Progressive Lawyers and Visiting Professor at the National Law University Delhi. She is widely-known for her three decades of work as a trade unionist, human rights defender, environmental lawyer and a respected advisor to several state institutions including the state legal aid bodies and the National Human Rights Commission.

    According to Republic TV, this committed and dedicated lawyer and activist is an “urban Maoist” who is “plotting to break India” with separatist groups and armed guerrillas across the country. The basis for the long list of scurrilous allegations and malicious insinuations against Advocate Bharadwaj is a letter purported to be written by her that Republic TV claims it has accessed.

    The provenance of this letter is not revealed and we are not told how it came into the possession of Republic TV. The language of the letter is crude and clumsy, with the supposed author self-identifying as “Comrade Advocate Sudha Bharadwaj” and mentioning the names of various known and unknown individuals who are meticulously addressed as “Comrades”. The contents – or rather, what Republic TV claims are the contents – are supposed to establish a “sensational” connection between the Kashmiri separatists, “urban Naxals”, students from JNU and TISS, and others who take public stands against the anti-people policies of the state. According to Republic TV, these are “incontrovertible and unquestionable facts” that cannot be questioned.

    Based on the telecast, the alleged letter belongs to the shoddy archive of similar “documentary proofs” that are regularly leaked to the press by investigation agencies eager to pin various “crimes” onto activists, leaders of people’s movements, political opponents, human rights defenders, critics of government policies and other citizens who are exercising their legitimate rights to free speech, dissent and political action.

    The frenzied propagation by Republic TV of these concocted allegations and invented charges against known critics of the ruling party is clearly aimed at blurring the lines between evidence and allegation, accusation and proof, coincidence and causality in the mind of viewers who do not have access to multiple sources of information. 

    Equally dangerous is the creation and demonisation of virulent labels like “urban naxals” and “tukde-tukde gang”, which gain currency solely by virtue of insistent repetition and circulation despite being legally, factually and politically untenable. 

    The lethal consenquences of this shameless manipulation of public opinio​n​ are​ t​oday visible in the form of the targeted lynchings of Muslims, Dalits and others identified as criminals based on malevolent WhatsApp messages and videos.

    Ludicrous though this attack on Advocate Bharadwaj may seem, it is also a signal of the widening dragnet being used to establish absolute control over all institutions and spaces of governance. We call on all responsible people to condemn and expose this attack as the latest attempt by the Modi sarkar and its embedded propagandists in the media to bypass democratic institutions, undermine the rule of law, stifle all voices of dissent and crush all those who seek to question or challenge their autocratic rule.

    We also call on media bodies, professional associations and senior journalists to come out and condemn practitioners of this form of toxic, unethical and malicious “journalism”.


    1. ​N​ancy Adajania, curator and writer

    2. Prof Amita Baviskar, Institute of Economic Growth

    3. Dr Shilpi Bhattacharya, OP Jindal Global University

    4. Prashant Bhushan, Advocate, Supreme Court of india

    5. Dr Neera Burra, writer and historian

    6. Prof Uma Chakravarthy, feminist historian

    7. Anil Chamadiya, journalist

    8. Prof CP Chandrasekhar, JNU

    9. Anil Chaudhary, PEACE

    10. Dr Yug Mohit Chaudhary, Advocate, Bombay High Court

    11. Dr Vanessa Chisti, OP Jindal Global University

    12. Maja Daruwala, Senior Advisor, Commonwealth Human Rights Network

    13. Senior Advocate Mihir Desai, Bombay High Court

    14. Saba Dewan, filmmaker

    15. Deepa Dhanraj, Filmmaker

    16. Professor Sabeena Gadihoke, AJK Mass Communication Research Centre, filmmaker

    17. Prof Jayati Ghosh, JNU

    18. Professor Shohini Ghosh, AJK Mass Communication Research Centre, filmmaker

    19. Viji Ghosh, journalist

    20. Colin Gonsalves, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India

    21. Dr Smita Gupta, JNU

    22. Prof Zoya Hasan, JNU

    23. Ranjit Hoskote, curator and poet

    24. Indira Jaising, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India and former Additional Solicitor General of India

    25. Amar Kanwar, Filmmaker

    26. Prof Ayesha Kidwai, JNU

    27. Ritu Menon, publisher and writer

    28. Dr Kalyani Menon-Sen, researcher and writer

    29. Ravi Nair, SAHRDC

    30. Farah Naqvi, writer and activist

    31. Aditya Nigam, Centre for the Study of Developing Societies

    32. Anand Patwardhan, Filmmaker

    33. Pamela Philipose, journalist

    34. Dr Imrana Qadeer, health activist

    35. Annie Raja, General Secretary, National Federation of Indian Women

    36. Vimala Ramachandran, Education Resource Unit

    37. Aruna Roy, Mazdoor Kisan Shakti Sangathan

    38. Dunu Roy, Hazards Centre

    39. Rahul Roy, filmmaker

    40. Prof Abhijit Sen, JNU

    41. Ardhendu Sen, IAS (retired)

    42. Dr Jhuma Sen, OP Jindal Global University

    43. Dr Rohini Sen, OP Jindal Global University

    44. Dr Mira Shiva, health activist

    45. Abhishek Srivastava, journalist

    46. Dr Pankaj Srivastava, journalist

    47. Prof Nandini Sundar, Delhi School of Economics

    48. Prashant Tandon, journalist

    49. Henri Tiphagne, People’s Watch Tamilnadu

    50. Dr Achin Vanaik, writer and researcher

    51. Dr Anish Vanaik, OP Jindal Global University

    52. Anand Swaroop Varma, Editor Samkaleen Teesri Duniya

    53. Prof Asghar Wajahat, writer, playwright and filmmaker


    Donate to the Indian Writers' Forum, a public trust that belongs to all of us.